Endometriosis: My Struggle; My Story

Hi, my name is Meghan, and I struggle with chronic, debilitating pain.

Every time my daughter asks me to pick her up, go to the park, play on the floor, or snuggle in her bed, the most frequent answer is, “No, Mommy can’t do that right now.” As young as two years old, she had learned to preface any fun request with “Mommy, does your back hurt?”

It’s been heartbreaking, to say the least.

There have been weeks, even months, when I am virtually pain-free, but when it rears its ugly head, I’m down for the count. It often takes a week or more to fully recover, if I even do, before the next flare up. I have missed out on countless experiences with my family and friends. When I did manage to be physically present, I was expending all of my mental energy compensating for the amount of pain I was in.

The last 3 ½ years have been peppered with multiple treatments, all with limited and short-lived success… Basically a (frustrating and exhausting and agonizing) game of “throw everything at the wall and see what sticks”.

After a recent flare up that left me incapacitated for five solid days, I gathered my medical files from every provider I’d seen, and I turned to Dr. Google. As I began researching, I quickly came to the realization that everything was pointing to endometriosis.

Every. Single. Thing.

At first I felt shock, then fear. Then frankly, I was pissed off…

All the pieces of the puzzle have been there, and you’re telling me no one could actually put them together?!

I can’t exactly blame anyone though. The odds were against me.

Although endometriosis affects 1 in 10 women, it frequently goes undiagnosed or misdiagnosed, sometimes for decades. Even when it is suspected, the most common treatments merely mask or suppress the symptoms.

Laparoscopic surgery, despite being the only way to definitively diagnose or effectively treat endometriosis, is often the last line of defense.

However, with advances in the medical community and the growing conversation on social media, we are slowly but surely raising awareness for this disease. And for the sake of my daughter, who will be at a significantly higher risk if I am diagnosed, I choose to have hope for future generations of women.

sunrise-looking-banner

Leave a Reply

